2021 AGM Recap

April 1, 2021

The Canadian Horticultural Council (CHC) held its 2021 Annual General Meeting virtually from March 16 to 17. The 2020 AGM theme was Horticulture Strong: Reflect. Adapt. Persevere. More than 170 delegates and observers logged on to discuss policy issues and to hear presentations from industry representatives. Marie-Claude Bibeau, Canadian Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food kicked off the AGM by recognising the importance of the sector, and the efforts farmers have made to rise to the challenges presented by the COVID-19 pandemic.

2021 Board of Directors Named

President: Jan VanderHout (Ontario)
1st Vice President: Marcus Janzen (BC)
2nd Vice President: Albert Cramer (Prairies)
Chair, Finance & Past President: Brian Gilroy (Ontario) Members:
Jason Smith (BC)
Beth Connery (Prairies)
Bill George (Ontario)
Mike Chromczak (Ontario)
Jocelyn Gibouleau (Quebec)
Pascal Forest (Quebec)
Gerald Dykerman (Atlantic)
Russell Weir (Atlantic)

Working Group Chairs Named

Industry Standards and Food Safety
Chair: Jody Mott
Vice-Chair: Nancy Chong Labour
Chair: Beth Connery
Vice-Chairs: Ken Forth, Pinder Dhaliwal, Fernando Borja Trade and Marketing
Chair: Quinton Woods
Vice-Chair: Brian Gilroy Crop Protection
Chair: Jason Smith
Vice-Chair: Tracy Shinners-Carnelley Business Risk Management
Chair: Stefan Larrass
Vice-Chair: Mark Wales Energy, Environment and Climate Change
Chair: Aaron Coristine
Vice-Chair: Quinton Woods Apple and Fruit
Apple WG Chair: Brian Gilroy
Grape Co-Chair: Matthias Oppenlaender
Tender Fruit Co-Chair: Phil Tregunno Berry WG Chair: John Handrahan
Vice-Chair: Lisa Craig Vegetable
Chair: Catherine Lessard
Vice-Chair: Jody Mott Greenhouse Vegetable
Chair: Linda Delli Santi
Vice-Chair: Joe Sbrocchi Potato
Chair: Bill Zylmans
Vice-Chair: Brenda Simmons National Seed Potato
Chair: Gord Visser
Vice-Chair: Deb Hart

Media coverage

Doug Connery Award

The 2021 Doug Connery Award was presented to Jocelyn St-Denis. The Doug Connery Award publicly recognizes a person who, in the course of their association with the Canadian Horticultural Council (CHC) and Canada’s horticulture sector, has made outstanding contributions to the improvement and advancement of the industry. Jocelyn St-Denis is the Executive Director of the Association des producteurs maraîchers du Québec (APMQ). He has served on the CHC Board of Directors since 2016 and has contributed valuable insights and industry knowledge, in addition to his dedication advocating on behalf of Canadian fruit and vegetable growers.

Honourary Life Member

Hector Delanghe was recognized as an Honourary Life Member of the Canadian Horticultural Council. Hector was instrumental in the development of many labour programs which growers continue to depend upon today, including the Seasonal Agriculture Workers Program (SAWP), CanAg Travel, and F.A.R.M.S. Hector is also a past president of CHC, having served in 1993.  His work has left a lasting legacy on our sector.

Thank you to our Sponsors!