CHC congratulates re-appointed and newly-appointed ministers

November 22, 2019

On behalf of fruit and vegetable farmers across Canada, CHC is please to congratulate all ministers appointed to federal Cabinet on November 20, 2019, specifically the Honourable Marie-Claude Bibeau, re-appointed to her role as Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada.

CHC would also like to offer congratulations to other cabinet ministers with whom we expect to work closely, the Honourable Carla Qualtrough, Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Disability Inclusion, the Honourable Patty Hajdu, Minister of Health, the Honourable Jonathan Wilkinson, Minister of the Environment and Climate Change, the Honourable Marco Mendicino, Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship, the Honourable Mary Ng, Minister of Small Business, Export Promotion and International Trade, and the Honourable Navdeep Bains, who was re-appointed to Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry.

“Working collaboratively with elected officials, especially those Ministers with the greatest influence on our sector, is an important part of ensuring the long-term sustainability and growth of the Canadian fruit and vegetable sector, the strength of our economy, and the health of Canadians”, says Rebecca Lee, Executive Director of CHC. “Many challenges – both old and new – continue to act as a burden on farmers, and we look forward to bringing forward proposals and recommendations to the new Cabinet.”

CHC welcomes the opportunity to continue to work with the federal government on issues of great importance to our members, including financial protection for produce growers, labour, crop protection, business risk management, taxation, international trade, the environment and climate change, and food safety and industry standards, among many others.

Congratulations once again to all those appointed as Cabinet Ministers.