Introducing CHC’s new President and Board of Directors

March 28, 2017

The Canadian Horticultural Council (CHC) is pleased to present its new President and Board of Directors for 2017-2018.


Alvin Keenan

CHC’s Board of Directors has appointed Alvin Keenan, of Prince Edward Island, for the 2017-2018 term. Alvin started working with CHC in 1983. Since that time, he has advocated on a wide range of issues, including trade and marketing, labour, and crop protection. He currently operates Rollo Bay Potatoes with his brother Ray and their families. They are dedicated to quality, care for the environment, and incorporating the newest and most innovative technology into their operations. Alvin inherits the Presidency from Keith Kuhl, who held the position from 2013-2017.

Board of Directors

Several new members were appointed to CHC’s Board of Directors for the 2017-2018 term. The full listing of Board members for 2017-2018 is as follows:


  • Alvin Keenan

Past President

  • Keith Kuhl

British Columbia

  • Bar Hayre (second vice-president)
  • Fred Steele


  • Beth Connery
  • Robert Purton


  • Brian Gilroy (first vice-president)
  • Adrian Huisman


  • Stéphanie Levasseur
  • Jocelyn St-Denis


  • Peter Swetnam
  • Andrew Lovell

CHC and its members look forward to much continued success working with Alvin Keenan and its new Board of Directors.