Ottawa 2016

Ottawa Parliament buildings

Photo by Stephen Downes / CC BY-NC 2.0

Due to the 2016 Annual General Meeting (AGM) being held in Ottawa, we were able to welcome over a dozen MPs and Senators. The evening was an excellent opportunity for members and industry partners to connect with elected officials and talk about Canadian horticulture.

Agriculture and Agri-food Minister Lawrence MacAulay attended the event. He spoke to attendees about the importance of horticulture to Canada’s economy and to the health of Canadians. The event was also attended by MP Pat Finnigan, Chair of the Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-food, and Bev Shipley, Vice-chair of the Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-food.

Claude Laniel receives 2016 Doug Connery Award

As has become an annual tradition at the CHC AGM, we honour a leader in Canada’s horticulture industry. This year’s recipient is no exception. Claude Laniel has been a leader and champion for Canadian horticulture for decades. This self-described “rural economist” served from 2000 – 2015 as the Executive Director of the Quebec Horticultural Council and as a member of the CHC Board for nearly ten years. He contributed to the development of the CanadaGAP program and has a keen interest in research and innovation.

Thank you to our sponsors

CHC would like to extend a warm thank you to all of our sponsors who were able to help us in making this year’s AGM a success.

Ottawa 2016 sponsor logos